Discuss Is my neighbour using my electricity? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

Im not an electrician but just a guy looking for a possible answer before I call my electricity supplier.

Every month without fail I use on average around 100 units of electricity and less in the summer. 1 month ago I noticed I had used 220 units of electricity and this month it went 380 units of electricity. I never change my habits and in fact spend most of time at my partners house or at work and only ever leave my fridge on when Im not here.

This morning I shut my electricity off completely with the main isolator switch and when I got back tonight after a a 12 hour period I had seemingly used 4 units of electricity! (at this rate Id be 240 units a month and thats with my electricity turned off)

There are only 2 possibilities here. Either my digital meter has went bad (its 15 years old) or my downstairs neighbour has tapped into my electricity supply.

I live in a standalone 15 year old property that has me on the upstairs and him downstairs. He's an Hungarian joiner tradesman and has all other tradesman coming and going from his property all the time and has extensively renovated his property.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Colin.

Can you post a picture of the meter and everything around it?

Hi everyone!

Im not an electrician but just a guy looking for a possible answer before I call my electricity supplier.

Every month without fail I use on average around 100 units of electricity and less in the summer. 1 month ago I noticed I had used 220 units of electricity and this month it went 380 units of electricity. I never change my habits and in fact spend most of time at my partners house or at work and only ever leave my fridge on when Im not here.