Discuss Location of PME Links in the Commercial Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

maddog

Hey pepes.
I'm a bit new to Ryefield boards, so maybe an obvious one.
While installing the Ryefield boards in the risers to feed the flats in a tower block (40 floors), we were told to remove the PME links from within the boards.
Should there only be a link at the supply, as it is a PME system.
What difference does it make?

Thanks for any help you can give me.

I don’t know physically where you’ll find the N→E in a Ryefield board other than the obvious place, connected to the neutral bar.

As to what difference it makes, as an electrician you should know the theory of PME and the reasons there should only be one N→E link in a system.

Hey pepes.
I'm a bit new to Ryefield boards, so maybe an obvious one.
While installing the Ryefield boards in the risers to feed the flats in a tower block (40 floors), we were told to remove the PME links from within the boards.
Should there only be a link at the supply, as it is a PME system.
What difference does it make?

Thanks for any help you can give me.

As Tony stated, only the one N-E connection and that would normally be at the service head. But maybe this large tower block is supplied via it's own DNO TX into a switchboard...

BTW, how many rising mains does this 40 storey tower block have??

Im a bit of a Newby to this kind of thing. I'm normally a flat rat.
There is a ryefield every 3 floors to feed around 27 flats, and each swa will feed 3 ryefield boards. About 400 flats in all.
I guess this would be a PNB system. I've never been in the substation.
Obviously removing the PME link was very simple. But why? The swa comes from the main panel with a seperate bond.

Im a bit of a Newby to this kind of thing. I'm normally a flat rat.
There is a ryefield every 3 floors to feed around 27 flats, and each swa will feed 3 ryefield boards. About 400 flats in all.