Discuss Loop Impendance question in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi,

I am currently studying to become an electrician and keep seeing this question (normally different values) and I am not sure how to work this out. Would someone be able to let me know how you work this out?

The measured value of loop impedance for a circuit is 2.4Ω. If the temperature at the time of the test was 20°C and the cable is 70°C (factor 1.2) what is the corrected value. Ze = 0.4Ω:
a) 2.88 Ω
b) 2.8 Ω
c) 2.4 Ω
d) 2.0 Ω

@Julie is it me - but I don't like the question much.....!

As far as I can see, either
a) they want you to incorrectly assume that the supply will be rising from 20 degrees to 70 degrees too, and apply the correction factor to the whole measured Zs.
or
b) they want you to incorrectly assume that Measured Zs-Ze = R1+R2 , so deduct the Ze and then apply the correction factor. Obviously you'd never do this due to parallel paths.

I'll get my coat....

a) they want you to incorrectly assume that the supply will be rising from 20 degrees to 70 degrees too, and apply the correction factor to the whole measured Zs.
or
b) they want you to incorrectly assume that Measured Zs-Ze = R1+R2 , so deduct the Ze and then apply the correction factor. Obviously you'd never do this due to parallel paths.

I'll get my coat....
You are correct in my opinion with b).

or

I'll get my coat....

No I don't either, it can be read in two ways they say loop - are they meaning the 2.4 represents R1 + R2 ? In which case the answer is just looking to add R1+R2 +Re (and they are looking to compare the measured "loop" cold to cold max Zs of the protective device),

Or as you say, are they saying this is the Zs, so subtract the Re, to estimate R1 + R2, recalculate this for temperature change then add the Re back on?
(In which case they will have Zs[hot] and need to compare against max Zs [hot] of the protective device.)