Discuss Open PEN in TN-C-S in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
I posted this in the DIY section and got little response which is unusual so I'm posting it here. Hope that's OK. I'm still learning so be gentle.

I'm trying to understand the consequences of a broken PEN conductor downstream of the DNO service head. If I'm correct, this will cause all exposed conductive parts to potentially rise to mains voltage but this voltage will be reduced by any parallel paths created by supplementary bonding to metallic water, gas supplies etc. Also any RCD in the circuit will not trip.

My questions are:
(1) Will the parallel paths have a low enough resistance to generate enough current to trip any MCB connected to the circuit? Effectively a TT system?

(2) What happens if the gas, water supplies coming into the property are plastic? Surely this will mean no supplementary bonding is required and no path to Earth. All exposed conductive parts will remain live?

(3) Supply to outbuilding. If "extraneous conductive parts" in the building then bonding required and the bonding conductor would normally be 10mm2. Why is supplying outbuildings, caravans, marquees etc additionally problematic if supplied by TN-C-S?

As I've said, I'm not qualified, just interested so be gentle!!

View attachment 53924
[/QUOTE]