Discuss Outdoor Power Questions in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

I

ingleton1

Hi, I am not an electrician but do intend to get one to do this work. What I'd like help with is confirmation or correction of my understanding so I can have an informed conversation with potential contractors.

Firstly - I want a double socket fitted on the side wall of the house to serve the patio for lawnmowers etc. There is a ring main socket on this wall so can they simply drill through the wall behind this socket and fit an IP66 RCD protected socket? If I wanted this socket higher up the external wall than the interior one is what should they be doing to protect the cable running up the outside wall? There is no RCD in the CU but the ringmain has a 16A MCB on it.

Secondly - I have a shed about 8m from the house. It has a couple of lights and sockets that are connected by a buried (no idea how deep) SWA cable, a tatty junction box and some mains cable to a dedicated 16A MCB in the CU. I'm concerned at the lack of an RCD so, here's my thinking. I need a garage CU installed in the shed. 30mA RCD, 16A MCB for the sockets, 6A MCB for the lights. They reuse the SWA cable (properly earthed with glands into IP66 enclosures at both ends this time) but I don't know how they should get from the IP66 box at the house end of the SWA to the CU. I think that at least the mains cable need rerouting (it goes in via an airbrick at the moment) but whatever they do it will still be a hole in the wall so what material difference is there?

Am I missing anything or does the above seem OK? Thanks in advance for your help. If this post isn't appropriate please let me know.