Discuss Testing of domestic property. in the Electrical Testing & PAT Testing Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Had a chap around yesterday evening to give me a quote for some plasterboard work. Seems he also has recently qualified in his testing capacity. Without naming names here is his profile
"
i have been in the electrical trade for 9 years, I qualified 5 years ago and passed my testing and inspecting qualifications last year. Working on industrial and domestic projects.
I have been plastering now for 20 years with local builders and property developers, also helping the DIY enthusiast to improve there own homes."

So when he visited yesterday I thought I would ask him about testing my place. As soon as I mentioned I have a 3 phase supply he said no could not do that. This I found a bit strange, maybe naively, as I assumed it could be treated like 3 seperate units. The kitchen and utility are on one phase, with downstairs and upstairs each having their own phase.

If he has indeed worked on Industrial Projects, then he's worked on 3 phase.

The only limitation maybe his Insurance doesn't cover him for 3ph in Domestic properties.

Either that or he's cut and pasted someone else's background

If he has indeed worked on Industrial Projects, then he's worked on 3 phase.

The only limitation maybe his Insurance doesn't cover him for 3ph in Domestic properties.

Either that or he's cut and pasted someone else's background

I did think when his profile mentioned industrial I immediately though ah 3 phase.

Some PLI insurance does stipulate three phase. IIRC mine had 3 options. Never, occasionally and frequently.
But presumably if working in the industrial sector he would have this.

In fairness knowing your own limitations is a good thing so testing 3ph may not be something he's familiar or comfortable with and being honest about it is a plus in my mind.