Discuss The induced EMF can be found by...........? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

Im a complete beginner and looking into the lvl 2 2365 syllabus to see what i need to be studying. I came across some multiple choice questions and came up against the below question, can you please direct me to some good vids/sites etc that will help me to understand. I need taking back to the basics! :)

The induced e.m.f. can be found by...
  • E = B + L + v
  • E = B + L - v
  • E = B x L x v
  • E = B - L - v
I dont know how far into the curriculum this info would be learned so if im getting way ahead of myself please let me know. I dont want to try to run before i can walk.

Thanks all,

Many folk struggle to understand electricity because it can really be seen so they don't have a real-world way to visualise it. Probably the best analogue for it is plumbing and the behaviour of water (or any other contained fluid like hydraulic oil).

EMF is the driving force for electric current, analogous to the the supply pressure for a water system. Current is effectively the flow of water (Ampere = Coulomb per second, say equivalent to litre/second of water flow) and resistance the effect of pipes to make it harder for water to flow (so proportional the length of pipe and inverse to diameter, approximately, just as conductor size and cable length matter). While not entirely the same, you can also see that too much pressure for the pipe risk it busting the wall and water gong everywhere, same idea as too much volts causing insulation breakdown. Roughly speaking.