Discuss Thinking of starting my own ltd company. in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi guys, just after a bit of advice really. I’m still an apprentice at the moment but I’m in my third year, will qualify next may/June and I’m very domestically experienced and feel like taking the step to self employment as soon as I qualify really.

have any of you done this straight from college? How’ve you got on?

also, I live in a smallish village with about 1000 houses and as it stands there are no small electrical businesses within the village. I’m not going to quote the name of the village I live in but for arguments sake let’s say it’s called ‘London’, I was thinking of naming my business ‘London Electrical Ltd’ to draw in custom from the local area, again just wondering if any pros/cons to this?

lastly, to get my name spread, I was thinking about having some professional flyers made an delivered to the whole village, with perhaps an introductory offer on, for example; ‘20W floodlight supplied and installed for £120 for new customers’, was thinking this might be a way to A) really start the company off quite well, B) create quite a decent sized, local customer base.

the 20w floodlight and price might not be exactly what I’ve just written but that’s the idea I’ve had.

Any thoughts on this would be welcomed, be as harsh as you like lol!

cheers guys
Craig.

There are lots of pros and cons for what type of business you enter. A Ltd company is useful for many reasons (some large organisations will only deal with them, for example), but it also imposes specific requirements on reporting accounts, etc. You should find a reliable accountant locally and discuss what you want to do longer term.