Discuss Back in the UK with an Australian Electrical licence in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

serenity.valley

Hi all
I'm new to the forums but have a very big question that no one has been able to answer. I have moved back to the UK recently after living in Australia for a while. I'm a qualified Australian electrician (fitter / mechanic) but I want to get British standard equivalent qualifications. What would be the best courses or licences for a change over or am I better off just doing 17th edition from scratch[.

Cheers

ATTACH=CONFIG]5702[/ATTACH]

Attachments

• no_diy.gif
    6.8 KB · Views: 52
Hey there Serenity.valley.

Firstly, welcome back to sunny Britain.....or maybe not :)

I think we can help each other here as I have been and for the past few weeks now researching how to get a job as a spark in Australia and how to go about it.

Anyway more on that later. Do you have your City & Guilds 2330 and NVQ 3? Also, I would agree that you need to get your 17th edition if you haven’t already as nobody will entertain you without that (at least not to my knowledge).

Now, if I have answered your question and I hope I've helped, can you advise me please on how to apply for work in Aus? I am sick to the back teeth of browsing visa sites and some I believe are scams so I'm very dubious about stuff like that.

I have been on more forums than you've had hot dinners and I get a different replies every time. I am so confused. Some say you need sponsorship, others say you need to be TRA 100 % whereas others say its not absolutely needed and others mention 457 visa.

What the hell do I do is it really so hard?

hi serenity valley. try this UK NARIC - Home

it an organisation that find the courses that are compatible with your quals.

aso in other words, they may say that you dont need to do a british city and guilds, as your aussie course is equivelant.