Discuss Can anyone help me wire up a doorbell?! in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

D

Deleted member 133622

Hi all,

I'm a beginner DIYer and I'm having trouble wiring up a simple doorbell... For context, I unwired it some time ago, but I stupidly didn't take a photo of how it was previously connected.

I have a doorbell transformer close by, as well as the button outside. From what I read online, I should have a blue cable from the button on 0 or 3, and the other blue from the transformer on 0 or 3. And the other pair from the transformer and button connect together onto 1. The problem is I've tried these different combinations and it just won't work. I've also tried a couple different buttons outside. If anyone can help a beginner out I'd appreciate it a lot!! Thanks

I've tried to attach a picture below

Attachments

• IMG_20210406_190904999.jpg
    290.3 KB · Views: 30
Well looking at how it would work if it had batteries....
You want the transformer connected to 0 and 3.
I would then take a short bit of wire and briefly join 0 and 1, and then 3 and 1. Whichever pair makes it ding are the two wires for the button, either way around. (Note 1 and 2 are joined anyway as far as I can tell).
If no joy, try reversing 0 and 3 as the transformer will be DC and there is a right and wrong way.

First of all, is there a wiring diagram for the bell? 2 of those screw terminals will make the bell go ding-dong when you apply power. It appears to be 0 and 3

you also need to check your transformer works.

touch the wires from the transformer against the terminals in turn until you get the ding-dong... that’s checked both of these work.

Take one line from the transformer and join it to one of the wires from the push button.... you can use 1 and 2 for this as they are just a link if you were using battery’s in this bell.
other push button wire to 0, if that worked the bell before... and the other wire from the transformer to 3.