Discuss Can anyone help with power amplifier fan replacement in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I'm sorry if this isn't in the right place but this is my first time using this forum.
I'm also sorry if i make some mistakes but I'm new to this kind of electricity and English isn't my native language. I bought a "new" power amplifier for my audio setup and the fan in it is very loud. I would like to replace it with a Noctua NF-F12 industrialPPC-3000 PWM. The fan in the amp right now works on 115VAC (even tho the amp works on 220VAC) and can pull up to 0.2A and it is PWM controlled even when it's on it's slowest it is loud en makes a 650Hz pitched noise.

The new Noctua fan specs from the Noctua website:
- 4 pin PWM
-Three-phase motor
-Input Power 3.17W ( typical )
-Input power 3.6W (max.)
  • Input current 0.26A (typical)
  • Max. input current 0.3A
  • Operating voltage 12VDC (I'm pretty sure it starts working at 5VDC)

I hope anyone here can help me if not i will have to follow this video
and buy a 12VDC adapter but this would make the fan run at full speed all the time tho.
I put a picture out of the owner's manual in, if someone can draw a solution on it that would be great, the fan that needs to be replaced can be found in the red circle.

Thank you for helping me in advance or just taking the time to read everything.

Attachments

• Fan replacement.png
    567.8 KB · Views: 7
Just my first reaction when looking at the amplifier circuit diagram:

When the mains transformer links are set for 220V, the existing fan effectively uses a 110V tap on the windings.
It is not a PWM fan.
It is continuously powered when the amp is switched on, through a 330 ohm resistor from the 110V tap.
There are temperature operated "thermostatic" switches on the amp o/p stage heatsinks for each channel, and if either operate, they short the 330 resistor in series with the fan, so it runs at full speed.