Discuss Can anyone recommend some good books? (for beginners...) in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

T

The General

Hi there.

I'm pretty new to the whole sparky thing, and although I have got my 17th and passed an NICEIC assessment I still don't feel 100% confident with the understanding of inspection and testing results. I can do it, but it kinda feels like I'm just following a set of instructions rather than actually knowing what I'm doing! I want to feel more confident about understanding what the results should look like and what to do/expect if they dont!

I have a full-time job, so the electrical work is only at weekends/evenings to gradually build up business until I'm ready to go out on my own, so I'm not doing it often enough for it to really sink into my brain properly at the moment.

What I'm hoping is that there are some decent publications out there that cover theory AND practice for domestic installations. It would be great if there was something that explained about 'real life' results that you'd expect rather than the 'theoretical classroom' results where everthing is always perfect....

can anyone recommend any?

many thanks

I can only really think of this one...Electrical Installation Design Guide: Calculations for Electricians and Designers - IET Electrical

Try your hand at designing a load of imaginary circuits, that should hopefully give you a feel of circuit characteristics (breaker ratings, cable csa, Zs etc values)

PS and getting another spark who is up on testing to review your results and question things so you question yourself as to why certain results

PS and getting another spark who is up on testing to review your results and question things so you question yourself as to why certain results

that's great - thanks.