Discuss Can you check SMA Sunny Boy is set to G83 through Sunny Explorer? in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

swifty

ok, so here's my first post.

Just got Sunny Explorer set up via Bluetooth from my laptop. Connecting to a Sunny Boy 3800. I'm trying to check if it's been set to UK G83 (From searching on here 5 and 8 inside the inverter) without opening the inverter. I've powered down and G83 does not appear on the startup panel on the inverter itself.

Reason for asking - If my Grid supply hit's 253V some auto disconnect feature of the Inverter kicks in (From reading on here that in itself appears wrong)

All I can find at the moment is going to Settings, Grid Monitoring and can see the following next to Country standard

VDE0126-1-1

I have used the search facility and can not find anyone confirming if it's possible to check G83 setttings within Sunny Explorer.

Aware I could have answered my own question but I'm new to all this.

Yep I have spoke to my installer who claims thats working as it should be!!!!!!

Cheers

I'm not certain about using Sunny Explorer but the Germans use VDEO126-1-1 standard.
The easiest way to check is on the inverter display itself, when booting up, the grid setting is displayed on the lines at the bottom of the display.
First the display shows the firmware version, then after 5 seconds shows the serial number and then after a further 5 seconds the country standard is displayed.
If its configured for G83 then then it will clearly show G83/1, if not then you need to set the internal switches to 5/8.
If you need to change the switches then it needs to be done within the first 10 generation hours otherwise you will need the grid guard unlock code from SMA

Last edited:
Here is what the installation instructions say:
"5.7.1 Setting the Installation Country
Using the "Default" parameter you can set the installation country and/or the grid connection