Discuss Help please - additional PV 400w panel conflicting with the existing 2kW system in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi all, total newbie to the forum. I sincerely hope that those in the know-how would be able to assist me. On my semi-detached house we have an existing 2kW system (8 panels, 250w each), this was installed 9 years ago, with the inverter SMA Sunny Boy 2kw (SB 2000HF-30), and recently we added a 400w single panel over our porch just to add bit extra as we are planning to have a battery installed in the near future. It appears that the inverter can accommodate a 2nd string.

During the installation the electrician attempted to connect the single additional panel into the 2nd string, however the inverter didn't like that at all and it wouldn't power up for some strange reason, then the installer connected it through the existing isolator box (so two seperate feeds into it and then the single feed going out to the inverter, still the inverter didnt like that. Then he placed an optimiser onto the new panel and then it worked. He was really puzzled about all this especially why the 2nd string wasn't accepting this single panel, but it worked.