Discuss Cheap Voltage and continuity tester? in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hey guys

I am still studying in college.

I just need one to play around with. As I will be making my own boards at home.

Can anyone recommend me one to use ? So I can start practicing how to do testing.

Thanks

I have one of these and it does the job well:
If you don't need continuity testing then this is the daddy of them all:
But equally you get cheap voltage-only testers such as this from the DIY houses:
All testers should be "proved" before and after use by testing on a known voltage source to check they are really working. Some models claim to be self-proving, and to some extend the likes of the Martindale tester (above) will let you know something is working just by checking it bleeps on continuity, but as a professional then something like this is worth considering:
Otherwise you really must check the tester on a known live supply first, and obviously that is a dangerous step to take compared to a limited-energy battery unit designed for testing.

I have one of these and it does the job well:
If you don't need continuity testing then this is the daddy of them all:
But equally you get cheap voltage-only testers such as this from the DIY houses:
All testers should be "proved" before and after use by testing on a known voltage source to check they are really working. Some models claim to be self-proving, and to some extend the likes of the Martindale tester (above) will let you know something is working just by checking it bleeps on continuity, but as a professional then something like this is worth considering:
Otherwise you really must check the tester on a known live supply first, and obviously that is a dangerous step to take compared to a limited-energy battery unit designed for testing.

Oh nice brilliant thank you so much for yhat I'll have a quick look at them now.