Discuss Father in law's dodgy wiring in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

R.Robertson

Hi, my father in law has had an electrician round whilst an extension was being built, the guy carried out the installatons of the final circuits for lighting and power and also placed a consumer unit in the extension which was a "temporary fix" whilst works were being carried out and has since literally disappeared off the face of the earth, if there was ever a candidate for alien abduction, he would fit the bill. the unit is being supplied by SWA via a double pole isolator (located in the external meter cupboard) and feeds the consumer unit via a 60A fused double pole isolator. I have a few questions so if someone has some spare time to answer them it would be appreciated.
A bit about my background. I am qualified to 17th and also have 2391 working more in the HV side of industrial settings, before that I was an electrical marine engineer in the Royal Navy, but have never touched domestic installations.
1) the SWA is not glanded at either end, I would have thought that although both isolators either end are plastic, the cable would still need glanding and the earth connected on either end.
2) as there is now 2 consumer units in the same property, wouldn't there be a need for a single point of isolation for the entire property?
3) from the 60A isolator the CU is fed via 10mm twin and earth, I get the feeling it should be at least 16mm for the current carrying conductors and am a bit concerned that the earth is only 6mm.
4) the buildings inspector has already said that a periodic inspection will suffice as the incredible disappearing electrician has left him with zero paperwork and an empty wallet, I'm going to presume there is no need to notify anyone that I am inspecting his property but what about actually putting it right?. As to gland the isolator in the meter cupboard I will have to remove the suppliers fuse.