Discuss Going out alone in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

P

Paul117

Hi

Forgive me if this topic has been covered many times before but I am new to the forum and rather than dig up old threads with possibly outdated info I thought I'd start a new one.

I have been an electrician for 10 years and now feel the time is right to set up my own company. I believe the work is there if you are good enough.

I will be handing in my notice in around a year, this gives me enough time to build a client base by working weekends and evenings. I have got the ball rolling with NICEIC membership as I intend to trade legitamitly and legally. This also gives me time to raise funds to set up and build a "cushion" to live off if things are slow to start with.

My question is this, is it best to register with Comapines House immediately or wait until I am fully self employed. Just thinking for tax reasons, paying and claiming business purchases back against my tax.

Also is it generally better to be a sole trader or register as a limited company?

Any help and opinions would be greatly appreciated.

For a limited company, you normally have to submit accounts 1 year after formation (you can adjust the year-end date a bit, if needed) unless you are a dormant company - which you wouldn't be, if you are doing jobs. You will need an accountant for this (which costs £100's), so bear that in mind. You can submit pre-trading expenses (6 months for expenses, I think, longer for captial equipment) so if you have bought tools or services, you can do that before company formation.

I can't comment much about being a sole trader, I wanted the limited liability status of a company, so avoided that option.

Sole trader is far less hassle initially. Get an accountant to review your books year by year and they'll tell you when to go limited.

Call HMRC, they don't bite, especially when you are asking for advice.