Discuss Help with megger 1552 doing ring final circuit test... in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

O

oboe

Hi chaps, fairly new to the testing side of things so i've been with one of my mates who has been testing for while now. he was taking me through his nic book for testing and was showing me how to do a ring final circuit test but when we got to i think it was step 3 where you link the phase and neutrals as in step 2 but you put your test meter with the socket adaptor on into the sockets and take the reading from there? but for some reason my 1552 wouldn't give me a reading but my mates fluke would as he just swapped his lead over on the test meter itself? he doesn't think my 1552 can take these reading?? is that right as i'm fairly new to the 1552! hope this makes sense??? :confused:

Ian

Hi Jase i've got the 3 test leads (red,black & green) but wouldn't the lead that goes into the adaptor need to have the same/similar ends? to the ones that go into the megger??

Ian

I have a 1552 and i can take r1 +rn readings with the standard lead with a plug on in that came with it have you checked the fuse in the plug? i also have a socket and see wich i plug my leads into well worth having one if not get some leads and wire a plug on to the ends hope this helps alan

Hi Welsh Spark, as far as I can remember(its been a whole 24hrs!) my meter was showing 99.9m ohms when I pluged it in? and when my mate put his fluke in(fter swapping over his leads over) it showed 0.44ohms??

Is there a specific setting or just resistance??

Thx Ian

Hello

A socket interface adapter lead is available a an accessory from Megger

The lead has three 4mm plugs at one end and the other end of the lead is terminated with a 13 amp plug.