Discuss Help with writing a CV in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi there I feel its time to up grade my cv I have spent three hours today trying to make a professional looking cv but still to no avail. I used a website were you fill in all the required info then download it into word but it came out at 4 pages long and not very professional. I am still a apprentice just waiting for my NVQ 3 and gold card. So any advice or tips would be great
kind regards

adam

I need to update mine, it's about 8 years out of date lol, one thing I will say is I was told by a guy that any potential employer, rightly or wrongly, will scan over a cv and if they like the look of what's basically in the first paragraph they might choose you for an interview.
So you need to make sure yours stands out straight from the beginning, big yourself up straight away, experience, quals hard worker etc. you'll go over the rest of the crap in an interview when you get one :)

A few quick pointers that you no doubt already know:

A CV should be short and easy to read, as said above you probably have 30 seconds of them assessing the CV to make an initial decision so you must catch them then.

An initial statement can sometimes be useful:
An experienced electrician with competence in design and construction of industrial and domestic installations.
Qualified to NVQ3, JIB gold card holder, backed by ten years of practical on site work.
Very capable in installation inspection, testing and fault finding
Good team worker, with independent capability

That is a bit rough and quick but gets the main points across quickly.

Make it clear what you do and how you are able to do this; qualifications, experience etc.

Then go on to the detail of jobs, and qualifications but only include those items relevant to the job, having a cse in politics is immaterial, wastes space and the employers time.