Discuss Kitchen recessed downlights in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

B

burnside43

Hi,

I just want to get a little advise from you guys - I am an amateur but have wired in lights etc around the farm but they have all had earths etc I am about to installed 6 recessed downlights in my kitchen (not in the ceiling but in the pelmet) the down lights are class II double insulated and dont have an earth terminal. I have some spare slots in my consumer unit and instead of linking in from an existing lighting circuit in my attic (its a bungalow) I intend using a spare 6A MCB in my consumer unit I was going to run T&E to the switch which I will locate to the underside of one of the wooden cupboards and then use the T&E to connect the 6 downlights.

question is
  • firstly I intend to connect the earth from the consumer unit to the switch but am I right? is it necessary if the lights dont need an earth?
  • Second as I intend using T&E to run from the switch to the lights (I have a roll so might as well use) should I just cut the earth back and use only the live and neutral to connect into the switch and to the lights or do I need to still connect the earth and simply have the earth put into a dead end (lego block) at each light?
Thanks in advance

I would use T&E to every light and switch so there was an earth accessible at all outlets, although you do not need to connect the earth as your fittings are double insulated. If you decide to change the fittings for chrome ones for example at a later date, the earth is there ready:smile:

First question is where are you? Because, if you're in England or Wales then adding a new circuit and/or wiring in kitchens is governed by Part P and will need to be signed off.