Discuss LED Tube Lighting circuit in the Commercial Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Z

Ziggy1979

Hi Everyone

new member and visitor to your forum so please be gentle! To ops, please excuse if I have posted in the wrong forum.

i am not an electrician nor do I intend to install the circuit I am asking about. I just need to understand what's going on to ensure I know what and why I'm getting it and the pros and cons.

we are opening a gym and having about 100 LED tubes (replacing fluorescents) installed mainly on the gym floor with some IP65 rated for the changing rooms. The electrician said it would be installed as a radial circuit (ie a few difference ones) but I asked the LED supplier and he said it should be installed as various ring circuits. My limited understanding of lighting circuits is that they are done in radial circuits.

ive read of high integrity earthing but I'm not sure that applies to LED tube lights so, other than cost more in wiring and possibly labour, what is the norm and what should I be getting and why? Electrician simply says supplier doesn't know what he's talking about but isn't really explaining much. All I want to do is understand the pros and cons and to know what I need and why.

thanks for your help!

Zigs

ps - there is 3 phase power

Welcome to the forum, hope it is useful for you.

For your LED tubes I can see no reason for installing the circuit as a ring; multiple radials would be my expected arrangement.
LED tubes can generate some leakage current but you would need to check the manufacturers data for the actual likely level.
If it is high then the circuit needs splitting down not forming as a ring.
The fittings should also have the details of the number of fitting permitted per MCB.
With the low running current demand more fittings may be expected on one MCB but the inrush current may limit this.