Discuss Lighting circuit BS 546 5 Amp 3 pin socket ? help please in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

A

aniris

Hi,

I am a newbie renovating my flat. A friend of mine told me I need to have a separate circuits for lights in my bedroom (e.g. bedside lamps...) equipped with 5A 3 round pin sockets. Apparently to comply with BS 546.

I have never seen these 3 pin sockets before (nor the plugs) and I am a bit surprised to hear I need to have different sockets compared with the traditionnal 15A british sockets.

Could someone tell me what I am supposed to do ? have 15A sockets or 5a sockets (with 3 rounds pins) ?

Thanks for your help

Lawrence

Hi,

I am a newbie renovating my flat. A friend of mine told me I need to have a separate circuits for lights in my bedroom (e.g. bedside lamps...) equipped with 5A 3 round pin sockets. Apparently to comply with BS 546.

I have never seen these 3 pin sockets before (nor the plugs) and I am a bit surprised to hear I need to have different sockets compared with the traditionnal 15A british sockets.

Could someone tell me what I am supposed to do ? have 15A sockets or 5a sockets (with 3 rounds pins) ?

Thanks for your help

Lawrence
Hi, you generally only put 5 amp round poles in when you put a normal light switch to switch the lamps on and off, its either taken from the lighting circuit or a fused spur, most bedside lamps have there own switch so you just plug them in and they have a 3 amp plugtop fuse in them, its all down to what you require really

Hi,

Thanks for your help

Lawrence
Hi Lawrence,