Discuss MAX Ze value for TT? in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi,
I'm in my second year at college, but I'm a bit unclear on what the max Ze should be for a TT system. I know that the regs say 200ohms, and my tutor said that it would be acceptable if you found an earth rod which gave a reading of 200ohms. However several of my mates who have been qualified for years, tell me that they don't agree. They won't certify a TT install if it has a Ze of more than 20ohms?

What's everyones opinion on this?

Thanks in advance. :)

Toby.

Last edited:
They won't certify a TT install if it has a Ze of more than 20ohms?

that's crap. unless you use 2 5/8" rods screwed together, you'll be very lucky to get under 100 ohms. this 20 ohms comes from a misunderstanding confusion over DNO earthing max. of 21 ohms. all TT systems must be backed up with 30mA RCD on all circuits so the max Zs for any circuit is 1667 ohms.

The earth path is made up of several sections

1/ The suppliers earth electrode , usually quoted as 21 ohms max.

2/ Resistivity of the soil, could be as high as 20k ohms

3/ the contact resistance between the installation electrode and the surrounding ground, this is where you come in as the sparks.

The maximum Ze allowed by the IET is 200 ohms, NICEIC = 100 ohms,

How come the NICEIC require 100ohms, when the regs state 200ohms?

because the niceic think that they're God. superior to the IET, so much so that they endorse a visual inspection of an installation , when 90% of sparks do proper test/inspections

Last edited:
How come the NICEIC require 100ohms, when the regs state 200ohms?

because the niceic think that they're God. superior to the IET, so much so that they endorse a visual inspection of an installation , when 90% of sparks do proper test/inspections

I can't understand why the IET have chosen 200 Ohms when its obvious why 100 Ohms was chosen by NICEIC

Zs = 50 / 0.5