Discuss New member seeking advice on spurs ring mains in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to the site and wanted to seek some advice thanks, relating to adding fused spurs to existing ring mains in a commercial premises.

Some of my other colleagues have been asked to explore ring main alterations, but they look after some site based kit and this is more related to buildings and structures.

I'm currently studying electrically after being in other fields over the years so my knowledge on the topic is limited. I don't have 18th edition and limited knowledge of legal regulations.

I'm not sure who is legally authorized to alter the existing ring mains being a place of work and not a domestic premises. We have electrical skills in the team but its more the regulations and certification needed to sign off the work for insurance and so on that I wanted advice on.

Would really appreciate any advice

Thank you

this would be a good place to start your research.
it is also a useful book to have in any organisation in my opinion.

I thought we'd put the 'ring main' business to bed years ago for final circuits, be it domestic, commercial or industrial.

I take it your in some sort of maintenance team? I'm a qualified electrician. However my employer will not allow me to carry out any electrical installation work etc, due to insurance and warranty purposes. Plus I haven't the work time anyway.

I take it your in some sort of maintenance team? I'm a qualified electrician. However my employer will not allow me to carry out any electrical installation work etc, due to insurance and warranty purposes. Plus I haven't the work time anyway.