Discuss Niceic assessment in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
This question is to those who are niceic. I am an approved contractor, I had my second periodic inspection on this previous Monday. The assessment had started as it usually does 8 till 12 everything went well however I had just realised by chance actually that the niceic had billed me for an additional half day. In total my yearly registration has cost me 580 plus an addutional 384. This is crazy. Almost a grand for the year. Has this happened to anyone before? My assessment was finished around 11.30 but he stayed and chatted for a while which is no bother but how do they justify an additional 384. I have phoned them only to be fibbed off and send in a email to which they haven't responded. It's disgusting*

Last edited by a moderator:
I hear this is their current tactic to fleece their members. Happening a lot.
I'd fight it. If you've been forced to pay for a full day and had half a day then you should ask them for a full written explanation that you can take to trading standards.

The annual assessment for the approved contractor scheme should be a full day assessment, domestic installer is a half day assessment.
If you have not had a full day assessment then your assessor may be at fault for not providing the service you are paying for.

I ve always been approved, but never been full day assessed except the initial start of registration. He asked to see two jobs only which I had no complaint. But he left at exactly 12.21 only because my mother had made him a pack lunch as we considered him a guest. It's a joke, seriously, I'm a sole contractor and it's a struggle out there as all would agree. How do they justify that? I am considering giving them a call to send the assessor back down and make him stand in my office for the additional time I paid for.
[automerge]1583457504[/automerge]
I hear this is their current tactic to fleece their members. Happening a lot.