Discuss NICEIC registering and assessment process in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

S.t.one

Hi
I have recently decided to set up on my own and start off as Niceic D.I i have been doing my own work (evenings/weekends) for last 2 years (approx).

I also have my 3 jobs ready for my nic assessment (1 x minor & 2 x Major) all tested but im am a little concerned as haven't really been keeping extensive records of the other work i have been doing, have some test certs, mainly minor works, but any major works i have done has been through friends who are already registered with napit/elecsa.

just a little worried as it says in niceic rules of registration "must of been working for no less than 12 months" .. Obviously I have been working as an electrician for longer than 12 months, but will only just be setting up properly on my own as of now.
Does anyone know if this is something they are strict on or ask for evidence of at the assessment?

Don't hold me to this but I think even the NICEIC realise that a lot of guys are just starting up, and for just a DI I think they are flexible on the trading for 12 months, though to be an approved contractor they still insisit on this.

When you booked your assement did you not go over all this with them?

Hi mate I've just joined niceic approved scheme and I've only been set up two months and it's fine aslong as you can show them five jobs- 2 major 3-minor. I've got my site assessment on 7th June.

Hi Malcolm

Thanks for the quick reply

I'm probaly worrying a little to much,
it's early days really as only just submitted the online request form... ..! ;-)

Wayne

Nice one mate, best of luck.

I have only done domestic work for myself so far.. I'm employed working full time at the mo been working on allsorts of commercial/domestic projects..

How are you finding things so far? Do you advertise much?

Cheers
Wayne :)