Search the forum,

Discuss Rewiring in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

G

GeeDee

First, I'm not an electrician but I've had the wiring inspected and had different reports from the builder who is doing some work on my house, so I wanted to ask here for an opinion please?
I have a house with 1 ring main for the sockets - upstairs and downstairs, radial for the kitchen and 1 ring main for upstairs and downstairs lights. The builder has told me that he doesn't think it's earthed and that it's unsafe and needs to be completely rewired. I believe the wiring was done in 1979 so it is old.
Is there any other option to make it safe other than a complete rewire?
Thank you for your help on this. I'm really quite concerned, as you can imagine.

it's no use relying on a builder to determine whether the electrics need rewiring, any more than relying on a plumber to advise on brain surgery. you need to get a couple of reputable electricians to check your installation and advise on what needs to be done.

He inspected it and he has had electricians to inspect it but I'm getting everything second hand from him and none of it that clear, honestly. He tells me I need a 10 way consumer unit with 17 double sockets to replace what I have.

Without seeing it it is difficult to say for sure but if your builder doesn't think it's safe then you should:

A - Ask him to conduct an Electrical Installation Condition Report (EICR)

Or

B - Get an electrician to do this for you if your builder is unable to do this for whatever reason.

If you post your location on here I'm sure one of the chaps could get in touch!

The report will provide you with a list of defects and a code which indicates the seriousness of the defect. Your electrician will then explain the report to you and suggest solutions.

Hope this helps

if you post your area, one of us here may be close to you.