Discuss Solar panels - no brainer for us? in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

Spinball

Hope it's ok to post in here when I'm not an electrician. My Dad (now retired) served his apprenticeship with the MEB and ran a TV repair and rental shop for decades. That's about as close to an electrical qualification I'll get.
Anyhow, I was brought here by Google when I was searching for information on thermodynamic systems.

We have a large house from which we run an IT business. We also have a small indoor pool. Our combined gas and electric bills are in the region of £450 a month and we want to get these down.
Two of us are at working from home during the day and the heating has been on 24/7 since October.
I want to find some solutions to bring our energy bills down.
We live on the Birmingham/Worcestershire border with a large, south facing expanse of roof. We have no intention of moving house again.

My neighbour got MSC accreditation last year and he is quoting us for installing 4x250 watt solar panels. Getting solar panels seems to be somewhat of a no-brainer given that we use a fair amount of electricity during the day.
Do you agree?

With regards to heating and hot water, I would ideally like to significantly reduce our gas bill.
We have two old Mexico boilers which we are going to almost certainly replace with two Worcester Bosch 30is.
But what configuration of plumbing will be influenced by whether we have a solar hot water system as well. The hot water tank is a few feet from the south facing roof.
I've read up a bit and until MSC approve heat pump installs and there are some real world figures in, I think it might be wiser to wait on the thermodynamic solution.
But I'm not sure. If we could get a system which heated the pool at least, I would feel a lot less guilty.

Any advice welcome.
Thanks