Discuss Solder Kit arrived today in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectriciansForums.net

J

jonwade

Note - I am totally new to this and have not got a clue really!

I bought a solder kit on ebay, partly because I need to solder 2 RCA plugs onto to cable, and partly because I felt that at the age of 39 years it is something I should own.

I bought a cheap bit of kit for for £7.95 which has everything I need I think.

2013-08-14.jpg

I did some soldering once or twice at school, and it comes with a booklet by Alan Winstanley too!

Lead free solder is not a patch on good old 60/40!

As far a soldering goes practice makes perfect.
Make sure you use a decent flux cored solder
Tin the tip of the iron before you use it and keep it clean always.
Tin both parts to be joined before joining them.
Wet the tip of the iron with a drop of solder each time you pick it up.
And practice.

My RCA plugs came with some "audio grade solder" - although I have no idea what it means. Enough to solder the connectors though.

I watched a good Youtube video where the wires were tinned. I will not be soldering immediately though, but will wait to check that the cable works as expected before soldering the plugs on. It is only for a sub-woofer which I do not even own yet - or have permission from the boss to buy. I will soon be arguing that as the new living room has a taller ceiling we need a sub-woofer to prevent the floor standers from overheating ..... I think she will fall for it!

Lol, good luck with that, I'm trying to get the wife to agree to me buying a beautiful vintage 6 meter band radio on Gumtree but she's having none of it.

Sometimes when you solder plugs you can't pre-tin the wire because it won't fit into the center pin if you do. As already stated it's pretty straight forward, you just need some practice

Lol, good luck with that, I'm trying to get the wife to agree to me buying a beautiful vintage 6 meter band radio on Gumtree but she's having none of it.