Discuss Sub mains for extended distance from meter to CU in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
As the user name states, I am not an electrician but I am trying to be an informed customer when dealing with a friendly local sparky and the DNO/supplier whilst undertaking some major electrical works on my property and some advise on the best solution would be welcome.

The works to be undertaken:
  • Move of meter from high level on an interior wall to a low level external surface mount box on the other side of the same wall
  • Move and replace the fuse wire fuse box with a metal clad CU
  • Improve the earthing situation of the property
  • Complete rewire creation of new ring mains & lighting circuits to provide seperate circuits for differnt parts of the house.
The situation:
  • The house is a 1950s bungalow with solid block walls
  • Supply is a TT system from overhead cables that are clipped to the side of the house and the soffits before enter the loft breify and dropping down the the 100A DNO fuse and the meter.
  • Current earthing arrangement is completely inadequate with 1x 1.5mm cable on the water pipe before it changes into plastic to the street and 1x 1.5mm to an earth stake in the front garden.
  • The preferable location for a new CU is in a cupboard approx 6m of cable run from the proposed meter location and would require running in the loft above insulation that is yet to be fitted.
Suggestion I am hoping to put to SSE and local contractors include:
  • Changing the earthing arrangement from TT to a from of PME if availble
  • Installing a fused switch at a location close to the new meter to keep the new 25mm meter tails <3m and a new cable run from there to a CU.
Options I am considering for the meter to CU connections that I would like advise on please: