Discuss 'Urgent remedial action' estimates in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi

I recently had an electrical test done on my flat prior to a sale. The flat won't have had much work done in many many years so i was expecting there to be work needed to be done.

The report has identified, amongst other observations, for 3 'Urgent remedial action required' items. I have no experience whatsoever of electrics, so this is gobbledegook to me! I am awaiting a quote, but i don't know how long that will take and i'm keen to understand the potential costs now in order to handle the purchaser of my property.

I don't know if the tests are 'standard' and therefore readable by others... but i thought i would ask if anyone can decipher the below and advise on how serious these are and if possible put a cost estimate to them?

Inspection Schedule Item 6.7: Suitability of accessories and controlgear etc. for a particular
zone (701.512.3) is in a potentially dangerous condition. Urgent remedial action is required.

Inspection Schedule Item 6.6: Suitability of equipment for external influences for installed
location in terms of IP rating (701.512.2) is in a potentially dangerous condition. Urgent
remedial action is required.

Inspection Schedule Item 6.8: Suitability of current-using equipment for particular position
within the location (701.55) is in a potentially dangerous condition. Urgent remedial action is
required

Many thanks!

The words "potentially dangerous condition. Urgent remedial action is required" is fairly generic with these reports, and be somewhat misleading.
Are these all possibly referring to items within a bathroom by any chance?

If you can photograph these "potentially dangerous" items and post up here, we can help advise better, but at the moment, im thinking its a basic pendant in bathroom instead of an IP rated fitting.

To save other people downloading the file:

Existing 4 gang fuse box with rewirable fuses.