Discuss Vir cabling allowed for fuseboard change ?? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello all, I'm new to this but seeking some advice.
Just done an eicr, all lighting is white 1980s cabling, as is MOST of the power cabling. However, there are random 2-
3 sockets in old vir wiring, this is generally a no no to deal with, however, the consumer needs upgrading. Can I do this and sign off knowing that vir cabling is within the installation ??
Any advice is appreciated

Have you done any IR testing? If so what are the results? It’s well past its service life
If it's not taken much, load wise, and is undisturbed, it could be in good enough condition. The problems occur, because of age, with heavy use.
Problems could occur if disturbing, even for testing, especially at connection points.

If it's not taken much, load wise, and is undisturbed, it could be in good enough condition. The problems occur, because of age, with heavy use.
Problems could occur if
Strangely I have a 3 metre length under my stairs from when the house was rewired (buckle clips were too good quality to remove) and it’s in perfect condition. Other end of the same cable was completely falling apart.

As above, the simple act of pulling an old CU over it and feeding it into a new one and forming it to where it needs to go can finish it off.
If it IR tests ok then you may get away with carefully feeding a new CU over it and wago’ing pvc onto it for final connection. I’ve done this a couple of times in circumstances where an immediate rewire wasn’t possible.

As above, the simple act of pulling an old CU over it and feeding it into a new one and forming it to where it needs to go can finish it off.
If it IR tests ok then you may get away with carefully feeding a new CU over it and wago’ing pvc onto it for final connection. I’ve done this a couple of times in circumstances where an immediate rewire wasn’t possible.