Discuss What do I replace this light with? in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

NutterzUK

DIY
Reaction score
Hi.

I'm not an electrician, I'm just a homeowner who thought they were about to do something as simple as replace a bulb only to find the task seems more confusing.

We have some kitchen units and inside them are some LED lights. I've attached a couple of photos (light and ligh2).

So I went out to buy a replacement from B&Q and got the light in the next photo to replace it.

I opened that up and the connection is nothing like the cable coming into the old one (that's a big power cable and this seems to have a tiny 2 pin connector).

Clearly I bought the wrong light - they were the only non recessed downlights I saw in B&Q and I guess I assumed it would be an easy like for like replacement.

My question is: What do I need to replace this light that I have like for like? I can't seem to find any numbers on it or anything useful that tells me what I need to look for.

It feels a bit bonkers because I thought it would be super straight forward.

Any advice is really appreciated, and I know it's an easy/dumb question for someone that knows.

TL;DR
What kind of light do I need to buy to replace this existing one?

Attachments

• light.jpeg
    77.6 KB · Views: 38
  • light2.jpg
    165.1 KB · Views: 38
  • 325603890_717687733282859_69704344365939356_n.jpg
    123.9 KB · Views: 37
  • 325583442_624849042775232_4332662067756116377_n.jpg
    174.1 KB · Views: 37
If that bundle of cable in the last pic belongs to the light you've bought, then it's probably 12volts, and needs a transformer or driver to connect it to 230 volts.
Any idea if the original is 12 or 230 volts?
Are you sure the original is LED and that it doesn't come apart? I've seen fittings like that where the front comes off to reveal a G4 or G9 halogen lamp.

I agree with @brianmoooore there is a fair chance the black housing will twist out from the bezel.