Discuss What is the best electronics invention ever made? in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectriciansForums.net

C

Cadmus Bennett

I would like to know that what is the best electronics invention ever made ?

Any suggestion would be highly appreciated ?

Thanks in advance
Cadmus Bennett

agreed. at least with a valve, it's got a nice little red glow from the heaters. and if they play up, a gentle tap with a screwdriver handle works wonders.

Well I am no expert but wasn't the first computer made with valves?

Colossus computer - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

My favourite quote:
Throughout this period the Colossus remained secret, long after any of its technical details were of any importance. This was due to the UK's intelligence agencies use of Enigma-like machines which they promoted and sold to other governments, and then broke the codes using a variety of methods. Had the knowledge of the codebreaking machines been widely known, no one would have accepted these machines; rather, they would have developed their own methods for encryption, methods that the UK services might not have been able to break.

So we sold foreign governments encoding machines with out telling them we were the only government capable of breaking the codes of the machines we sold them, good business.

A bit like selling the Libyans an aircraft that only we know how to shoot down, I'm sure the Yanks do this sort of thing all the time.

I will have to do some reading but I think valves were the fore runner of the transistor.

I understand transistors but don't know much about valves.

Last edited: