Discuss Where next? in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

N

naturals

Hi All,
By way of an introduction, I'm a commercial manager working in the renewables sector, heavily focused on PV work at the minute. Around eight months ago I started doing a C&G Level 1 qualification at my local college, more out of interest than for any long term career advancement. Working in finance and contracts I don't need formal electrical qualifications but I've found myself really enjoying the course and wanting to learn more. The course has mostly been electrical theory and some introduction to the wiring regs; I've just started in the workshop wiring up basic circuits.

My question is what is the best step to take next? I don't want to be collecting expensive qualifications for the sake of it. 17th Edition seems like a logical step as my company will pay for me to take it. Where then?

I'd like to be learning about electrical design, theory and best practice. As an aside I also want to build an electric car at some point soon so any general hand skills (as opposed to fairly specific stuff like how to wire in a consumer unit) would be really handy.

Is there a course that you think would fit the bill? To be frank reading the C&G website is giving me a headache trying to differentiate between the different options. Location is London if that makes a difference.

I was under the impression that you had to be level 3 qualified before sitting 17th??

I'm not really qualified to answer your questions to be honest, all I can say is that I've just finished level 2 C&G 2365 and that was basically all aimed at domestic installations. Sounds like you need to be looking at engineering qualifications. Good luck with whatever you do anyways!

Reply to Where next? in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

Similar Threads