Discuss Why are proving units so expensive? in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Good afternoon all, my query is about proving units. Several firms make them but they all seem quite expensive is it because not many are sold as an Electronics engineer I can't see the components costing a lot or is there some other reason. As I am starting up again a proving unit is a long way down the list surely combination sales would be a better bet where you buy the Voltage tester and the proving unit is part of the kit. Brian

i always use the incoming side of the main switch as a proving unit. why buy when there's a free one there already?

Simple answer is because the scams require you to have one,thats why they are so dear.Like the nut I once needed for my van,average price of a nut about 50p this one from dealer was about a tenner,when I kicked off about the price the reply was yeah mate course its dear but you cant drive the van without it!

I have one, , got it as a freebie a couple of years ago, grabbed it on my last assessment and my assessor asked why I wasn't using the incomming supply. Said that I thought that's what they expected as I would usually use the supply. Got a sort of knowing look so I put the unit back in the bag and there it stays.

only proving unit i use is for checking that our HV equiptment is dead...!!

LV units are expensive and as already said... check against the incoming supply!

problem is you need a proving unit for your proving unit to prove that the first one is working question is the battery in the proving unit flat or are the prods faulty , i got one ,found the prods would fit through the holes great eh

Proving on the incomer is no good when there is no supply on the incomer.

In 45 years I've never felt the need to own or use one, I've always used the 3 meter system.
If you test with 3 different meters the chances of all 3 being U-S are about as high as being hit by lightning in a cellar.