Discuss 2 core 55 amp stranded wire HELP in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

C

Chico

I'm after some 10AWG 2 core and cannot find any anywhere, any ideas?

I'm no electrician but as I see it that is around 50-55 amp wire.

Chico

how long cable do you need, whats the installation method, what is the voltage and what purpose is it serving, if you give this info was can suggest an alternative or guide you the right way.
Awg is an american/ canada wire measurement system and is applied to single core cables the lower the number the bigger the core. It may be stamped on a multi-core cable as a ref' to the size of each core, without knowing its intended use its not possible to suggest a cable as depending on the use may effect the cable needed and the size required even for the same loading requirements.

Last edited:
It is for extending the leads on a Minn Kota electric motor.So will be in a boat. I need 2 lengths of around 5 metres (2 different set ups).

Connects to a battery at one end of the boat and to a quick connection to the motor.

Sorry 12V system.
and installation method length of run load type these are all critical when picking cable, also ambient temperature grouping factor with regards to running with other cables, they may not all apply but the questions need asking, as a 50m run is going to need a larger cable than 2m run and volts drops is an issue more so as your running 12v.

sorry just seen your previous post explaining some of this.

Last edited:
One set will be 5 m one set closer to 3.5 m. The battery is fuse protected. Temps will be from -5 c to 30 c (depends on the weather)

No Other cables will be anywhere near.

Think you need to be looking down the line of 'jump leads' used for cars , lorries etc you may find what you need.