Discuss 32A or 40A breaker for 7kW EV Charger in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

LawVal

DIY
Reaction score
I note that in answer to another EV Charger question a member suggested a 40A breaker would be preferred to a 32A because of many hours at continuous full 7kW load. I am not an electrician but understand the reasoning.
I have a 7kW charger (which generally runs full load for a continuous 5 hours during the off-peak period) and note that the electrician has connected to a 32A type B breaker in the CU and issued his NICEIC Domestic Electrical Installation Certificate accordingly. The circuit conductors are noted as 6mm csa
I have not experienced any problem with the installation but would the general recommendation be to increase the breaker to 40A?

Thank you.

You cannot just increase the breaker size without confirming that it will operate in the correct time.

Each breaker must operate within a set time, which equates to the circuit having a particular resistance or less. Without knowing the characteristics of the circuit you won't know if the larger breaker will still operate within the required time.

If you can confirm the actual Zs (the "loop" "resistance") as measured or calculated is less than the required Zs for the particular breaker; and the cable is of sufficient size, and is installed to the appropriate method to withstand the higher current; then it could be possible.

It isn't just a simple answer unfortunately.

You cannot just increase the breaker size without confirming that it will operate in the correct time.

Each breaker must operate within a set time, which equates to the circuit having a particular resistance or less. Without knowing the characteristics of the circuit you won't know if the larger breaker will still operate within the required time.