Discuss EV charger cable in wall cavity in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I would like to hide the cable to an EV charger. The consumer unit, meter cabinet and charger would all be on the same wall. About 5 metres from the charger to the meter box or 6m to the CU. It's an external wall without insulation. Would 6mm NYYJ in the wall cavity be acceptable? It would be resting on the wall ties.

I'm not an electrician and won't be doing the install my self, just looking for opinions. I would fish the cable my self unless the electrician wanted to do that.

I have always said no when the builder or home owner asks if they can hide the cable in the cavity. I have also never put a cable in the cavity. However, if asked 'why', I usually stumble around my words a bit and end up saying something flimsy like its just not the done thing.

What is the difference between putting it in the cavity of the wall or putting it in the cavity of a stud wall (which is fine)? Also, what is the danger with putting it in the cavity of the wall?

I can see that if it is put in the cavity during construction of the wall, then it is prone to damage whilst all the construction work is going on, but what if it is put in after, as in this case? lets assume it is also within a zone, although it wouldn't need to be as it would be >50mm.

I'll sip my coffee a bit more and wait for the gasps that I dared ask the question :)

I have always said no when the builder or home owner asks if they can hide the cable in the cavity. I have also never put a cable in the cavity. However, if asked 'why', I usually stumble around my words a bit and end up saying something flimsy like its just not the done thing.

What is the difference between putting it in the cavity of the wall or putting it in the cavity of a stud wall (which is fine)? Also, what is the danger with putting it in the cavity of the wall?