Discuss Advice about safety please. in the Auto Electrician Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I am not an electrician but I am after a bit of advice. Would Ibe correct in thinking that a vehicle hook-up lead, used to keep the cooling units running when vans are parked up at its home base, should have the cable clamp on a plug should be on to the outer insulation and not onto the individual wires (earth, neutral and live) I do not think it is but would welcome any feedback and any reference to what regulations the lead/plug clamp might be under.

You are correct that the clamp should be on the insulation.
(and incidentally the 'earth' wire in the plug should be longer than the others, so it's the last to pull out in the event of the clamp failing)

How about BS7671 Chapter 13 "Fundamental Principles". Clause 134.1.4 :"Every electrical joint and connection shall be of proper construction as regards conductance, insulation, mechanical strength and protection."

You are correct that the clamp should be on the insulation.
(and incidentally the 'earth' wire in the plug should be longer than the others, so it's the last to pull out in the event of the clamp failing)

How about BS7671 Chapter 13 "Fundamental Principles". Clause 134.1.4 :"Every electrical joint and connection shall be of proper construction as regards conductance, insulation, mechanical strength and protection."