Discuss Choosing the right governing body for my certification needswi in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

I

Ian Holdham

Hi all,
I have recently started business and I am looking down the route of signing up to a certification scheme. I have over 10 years experience in all electrical scope, can you help me choose the best and reliable scheme that won't cost me the earth. Also what do they require on inspection, does it have to be non notifiable work due to the fact you are unable to carry out any notifiable work unless already a previous member of one of these schemes.

thanks for your time

Ian

Hi all,
I have recently started business and I am looking down the route of signing up to a certification scheme. I have over 10 years experience in all electrical scope, can you help me choose the best and reliable scheme that won't cost me the earth. Also what do they require on inspection, does it have to be non notifiable work due to the fact you are unable to carry out any notifiable work unless already a previous member of one of these schemes.

thanks for your time

Ian

From what I see on here stroma is the cheapest at £288 for the year and most don't have a bad word to say about them.

Part P CPS for £288

I have had a quotation from napit which seems reasonable with all sectors including commercial and industrial for under £500 a year with add on subscription to there online software around the £100 mark, with all certs costing £2 something each time, if there is someone on here using napit already could you give me an honest review, also could you let me know as what jobs I could use for there assessment process,
Thanks Ian

the usual way is to do a notifiable job within 3 weeks of your assessment by nic/napit etc. and then notify through them once you are accepted. a CU change and a minor job are usually acceptable for assessment.