Discuss Coming in at basement level in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

SparkyMarkie

Hello Everyone,

Hello to all you DIY's, Domestic Installers, and 'Fully Qualified' Electricians (2391, 2330's etc)

First off, apologies for my username 'SparkieMarkie', I'm not currently an Electrician or DI, but hey it's catchy, and Mark is my name, so what they hell.....

A bit about me: I'm currently a father of three and self employed as a photographer (portraits, babies, families etc), but in this current economic climate business is not great, in fact I'm in danger of losing my house etc. I've been a photographer for 23 years and I'm not the type of person to give up on things lightly, but the truth is that portraits are a luxury, and in these challenging times the 'luxury' items are the first things to go as people tighten their belts to pay for their bills. Therefore I'm looking to train in an area that is 'essential' for the public, and taking a long hard look at my personal skillset, electrical appears to be the way that I should concentrate my attentions.

Right, that said, I can already hear the sighs, moans, and derision of some of you. Yes I'm a career changer, yes, I will probably end up a '5 day/week wonder' and yes I will be offering myself for free in exchange for a little bit of practical experience (I've read all the threads and see both sides of the argument).