Discuss Double gang switches to dimmers in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

kahnman

DIY
Reaction score
New here so thanks in advance for the help. I'm an architect (definitely not an electrician) struggling through what I thought would be a fairly straightforward replacement of two ON/OFF switches in my 1960s home. One of the switches controls an exterior flood light and I would like to replace it with a Honeywell programmable switch for automated on/off at sunrise/sunset. The other switch controls an LED light fixture in the kitchen so I would like to install a dimmer.

The Honeywell switch has a line wire, load wire, ground wire, and a neutral wire. The dimmer has a line, load, and ground.

When I opened up the junction box, it appears that all of the neutral wires are joined together (no wire nut, just twisted together and taped). There is no ground, and then there are the hot wires currently wired to the switch.

My questions are:
  • Can I install these devices without the ground wire connected?
  • Do I need to determine which of the black wires on the existing switches is the load vs line or can I wire them to the dimmer either way?
  • I assume the current wiring of the neutral wires is not correct - what is the proper configuration and how does the neutral for the Honeywell switch get wired into the existing neutral wires.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• Double gang switches to dimmers image_67175425.JPG - EletriciansForums.net
    image_67175425.JPG
    410.2 KB · Views: 11
  • Double gang switches to dimmers image_67200769.JPG - EletriciansForums.net
    image_67200769.JPG
    364.6 KB · Views: 11
  • Double gang switches to dimmers image_67187713.JPG - EletriciansForums.net
    image_67187713.JPG
    460.7 KB · Views: 11