Discuss Going it alone.. in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

V

Valleyelectical

Good evening all,
firstly would like to welcome myself, chris, new here tonight in need of some advise...
im a qualified electrician nvq3 and have am2 aswel, i am subcontracting to a company at the moment but would like to start doing my own work and building my own little business up. Iv been working as an electrician for roughly 9 years so have experience, although i must be honest im not the most experienced when it comes to testing, but can do it.
what path does anyone recommend? Iv been told so many different things i have got confused! One says you have to join governing body, one says you dont and that you can certify yourself.
One thing that does confuse me.. If you join nic/elecsa etc and they assess you, they want to see previous jobs. How can you do these as they need signing off?!
Sorry for the essay and i hope someone can point me in the right direction.
thankyou for your time.
chris.

Good evening all,
firstly would like to welcome myself, chris, new here tonight in need of some advise...
im a qualified electrician nvq3 and have am2 aswel, i am subcontracting to a company at the moment but would like to start doing my own work and building my own little business up. Iv been working as an electrician for roughly 9 years so have experience, although i must be honest im not the most experienced when it comes to testing, but can do it.
what path does anyone recommend? Iv been told so many different things i have got confused! One says you have to join governing body, one says you dont and that you can certify yourself.
One thing that does confuse me.. If you join nic/elecsa etc and they assess you, they want to see previous jobs. How can you do these as they need signing off?!
Sorry for the essay and i hope someone can point me in the right direction.
thankyou for your time.
chris.

Hello Chris Welcome aboard....:smile5: