Discuss How can I add a candle flicker LED to my static LED circuit? in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

pnutttz

DIY
Reaction score
Hi everyone.

I should start by saying I'm not sure I'm in the right place here (this isn't a householder issue - I'm making a Ghostbusters backpack for my son!), and that I have no knowledge at all of electrical circuits.

I have a simple circuit with 3aaa batteries powering a string of static LEDs of differing colours (in series, if I've got my lingo correct). I want to add a candle flicker LED to the circuit. It can be added to the end of the 'chain' if that'd work best, doesn't really matter.

Naively, I thought if I just spurred off from one of the static LEDS it'd work without affecting the other LEDs because their power would be unaffected. But of course that hasn't worked (regardless of where in the series I add it), and it makes all the other LEDs flicker too!

What do I need to do to stop that happening please?

I'd be really grateful for any (very cheap!) solutions.

Thanks in advance.
Mark

Take the supply to your flicker LED from the battery output. So you have your flicker LED and your normal LEDs both connected to the positive and negative if the battery.

Note, what supply voltage does your flicker LED require?

Take the supply to your flicker LED from the battery output. So you have your flicker LED and your normal LEDs both connected to the positive and negative if the battery.

Thanks very much for the reply. Yes, the LEDs just run straight off the battery pack. The flicker LED I bought gives these specs:
  • Forward current: 20mA typical
  • Forward voltage: 2-3V
Does that help?

Thanks again for helping me :)

Oh, just realised you were telling me to take the flicker LEDs straight off the battery!! Thanks, I'll try that!

Oh, just realised you were telling me to take the flicker LEDs straight off the battery!! Thanks, I'll try that!