Discuss JIB Grading? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi all,
Im about to send off for my first ECS card and grading.
Ive done 2330 2/3, 17th Edition, 2391, Im currently on the NVQ 2356 and have included a letter from my assessor, I have 7 years work experience From installs to periodics I have a letter From my Employer who i have currently been with for 5 years stating my skill set. Am i right in saying that i will only get a labourers card? based on not having completed the NVQ or could they consider my grading? i mean anything else is better than a labourers card lol :grinningelf:..
Any thoughts or views appreciated

James

Hi Engineer54 I dont have the am2 im afraid. But have been informed i wouldnt need to do it with regards to the NVQ 2356 but am guessing your gonna say it may enhance my grading with jib lol untill i get my NVQ!

It probably would have influenced the assessors yes. So how come you didn't take the AM2, i thought it was virtually mandatory with the 2330 level 3...

It probably would have influenced the assessors yes. So how come you didn't take the AM2, i thought it was virtually mandatory with the 2330 level 3...
I just didnt undertake it back in the day. I think it may have been mandatory with either the 2330 2/3 or as part of the NVQ but in the last year or so ive been able to do the NVQ 2356 without having to do the am2 as the 2356 has been phased out at the beggining of the year!!

You will get graded as 'Ancillary Operative'. You will not get Electrician grade until you have completed the NVQ Level 3 and have the certificate for it. You won't get Approved Electrician until you have been working as a graded Electrician for two years and the hold the 2391 or equivalent which you say you already have. :thumbup:

luckily someone around here understands the deep dark workings of the jib ;-D