Discuss Lighting Junction box in loft with 9 cables in?? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Doing a rewire at the minute and was wondering if anyone has ever seen or heard of a lighting circuit being connected somewhere in an installation with 8/9 cables connected.

I’m an apprentice so I’m curious about most things and was wondering if you was to do an EICR how you would code this and would you immediately suggest rewiring that particular circuit?

What would concern you about it?

I sometimes do similar today if it’s a Quinetic setup with no switch wires.

Surewire do something similar, I used one once when re-wiring several atic rooms and it was impractical to get multiple cables to either the rose or the switch, it was ideal for the situation but the build quality was a bit flimsy I thought.

image.php

What would concern you about it?

I sometimes do similar today if it’s a Quinetic setup with no switch wires.
To be fair it does seem like a non issue really by the response from you and Bill, actually seems useful in certain cases such as yours.

I work primarily in social housing so I haven’t come across wiring like this before (not to say it doesn’t occur), but it made me wonder whether it would be worth suggesting to a customer that the wiring should be updated.

How about these, in the lofts of a row of local bungalows, from the 1960's. Connections for each light and each switch drop, plus feed from CU. Generally all in perfect condition, and good for continued service.

Attachments

• IMG_20220114_140530r25.jpg
    109.9 KB · Views: 41
To be fair it does seem like a non issue really by the response from you and Bill, actually seems useful in certain cases such as yours.

I work primarily in social housing so I haven’t come across wiring like this before (not to say it doesn’t occur), but it made me wonder whether it would be worth suggesting to a customer that the wiring should be updated.