Discuss Shed/Garage electric supply query in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

K

kev2b4

Hi, I'm new to this , so will try and keep it simple.

Have been in (new to us) house.

Currently have a shed adjacent to house fed , this is fed via a 2.5mm2 twin and earth cable from main consumer unit
(up to sunday this was clipped to skirting board in cupboard ( now is in plastic cover)).
This cable I intend to get changed in the near future to a 2.5mm 3 core SWA , with the armouring bonded back to earth.

House shed-- this has an old 6 way fused distribution board, this is intended to be changed for an rcd'd 4 way consumer unit. ( outside lights and power sockets are all armoured cable with the armouring currently glanded with EXD Glands!)- lighting in shed is braided cable with the braid being taken to earth.

A feed from this is then taken to a garden shed approx 9m cable length via 2.5mm2 twin and earth cable , underground in rubbish plastic conduit.( from what can be seen)

Garden shed has a nice installation - rcd with 6A breaker for lighting, 16A driving sockets all tidily plastic conduit.

I intend to run a 2.5mm2 SWA 3 core from shed to shed , installed above ground onto the adjacent fence at say 1m above ground level.
( armouring bonded to earth at house shed)

Maximum loads are:-

House shed - freezer , + 13A max

Garden shed - 6+16=22A max

I realise the EXD glands (IP65) are a little over the top for a domestic - but they look pretty!, however would appreciate any guidance on what is proposed above-

When electrical changes will be calling in a proper ( Qualified Electrician ) to check over the whole of the house wiring ,
( when moved in we had some issues with the wiring -- ( missus understood why shower got disconnected very quickly!)- also L + N reversed in one socket! )

You' ve said you will have a qualified electrician check whole off you property when you finish the job you have asked about.