Discuss Star delta motor help in the Electrical Forum Canada area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

Romans99

Right guys, apologies in advance for lack of detail etc but I've only had a very brief look at this one today and I'm expected to work miracles tomoro.

A three phase 13kw motor for an AHU extract fan was running very noisy and they sent it away to be refurbd
It has come back and been put back in.

It now runs for approx 20-30 seconds before blowing a 40amp fuse in the control panel.

Control is wired star delta and has not been altered, adjusted or messed around with.

Client is convinced it's wired wrong and want a quick fix.

I'm no expert on starters or indeed three phase motors,

Has anyone with more experience got any fault finding suggestions.

Why does it run for a while before blowing the fuse?

Again apologies for lack of detail but I'm back there tomoro and should now more then.

Is the starter switching to delta when the fuse blows

I assume by refurbed it has been rewound

If it is I would check that the motor connections are correct to the starter as motors do not normally come back rewound with the windings terminated onto the motor terminal block in the same order as they where taken out

Last edited:
Right guys, apologies in advance for lack of detail etc but I've only had a very brief look at this one today and I'm expected to work miracles tomoro.

A three phase 13kw motor for an AHU extract fan was running very noisy and they sent it away to be refurbd
It has come back and been put back in.

It now runs for approx 20-30 seconds before blowing a 40amp fuse in the control panel.

Control is wired star delta and has not been altered, adjusted or messed around with.

Client is convinced it's wired wrong and want a quick fix.

I'm no expert on starters or indeed three phase motors,

Has anyone with more experience got any fault finding suggestions.

Why does it run for a while before blowing the fuse?