Discuss your first and worst electric shock!!! in the Electricians Chat - Off Topic Chat area at ElectriciansForums.net

G

Guest112

Hi I thought it would be interesting to hear about situations that have happenned to different people in the electrical industry and would be a wake up call for perhaps those who are inexperienced or have not had a shock.

My first was when i was a second year apprentice i managed to go two years without a belt and after isolating a main switch for a db supplying a chinese take away below a snooker hall had a belt off a lighting circuit which was fed from the snooker hall upstairs my fault as i assumed everything was dead as shouldve been but as they say NEVER ASSUME

the install was shocking cables were literally selotaped to the wall with connector blocks hanging everywhere, obviously since then ive had a few the worst being my fault while being an apprentice still was running an earth into alive db while forming a bend on the earth slipped and touched my middle finger on the busbar and burnt my hand slightly.

so whats your worst? and ALWAYS CARRY YOUR TESTERS WITH YOU MY T100s ARE MY BEST USED BIT OF KIT and touch wood i havent had a belt for years

(dont particularly want to bring up any negative stories regarding deaths caused from electric shock and if anyone has known anyone to have serious injury/death from electric shock my sympathy towards those and their friends and loved ones)

My first was when I put my finger in a caravan hook up point. I was about 7 at the time.
My worst was with an old 3 phase board, put my hand across the exposed incoming terminals, got 415V across my hand, made my shoulder ache for about a week.

hmm first shock was while i was working in a hospital about a year after working as a sparks,
i wouldnt say any of the shocks ive had are perticularly bad would it be wierd to say i liked em a little?